Mayor-elect Rob Ford has formally announced Coun. Doug Holyday as his deputy mayor and confirmed who will sit on his executive committee, which is heavily comprised of conservative allies.

"It's not about left and right. It's about bringing respect for taxpayers back to City Hall," Ford said Monday at a news conference.

"This team I that have demonstrated here today will do that. They're hard-working. They understand customer service and that's the bottom line."

Ford officially takes office on Wednesday. His first council meeting is scheduled for Dec. 7.

About his new deputy mayor, "Councillor Holyday and I have worked very well together over the past 10 years, I have the utmost respect for him and am grateful he has accepted the position of deputy mayor," Ford said Monday in a news release.

Holyday is a former mayor of Etobicoke, who represents Etobicoke Centre's Ward 3. Ford had represented Ward 2.

Holyday endorsed Ford for mayor late in the campaign.

Ford also identified the chairs of the seven standing policy committees. Those individuals will sit on Ford's executive council, which can be likened to the cabinet of the federal or provincial governments.

"We have assembled a diverse and talented team and I look forward to working with all of them to bring accountability and transparency to City Hall," Ford said Monday in a news release.

The chairs are:

  • Community Development & Recreation - Coun. Giorgio Mammoliti (Ward 7, York West)
  • Economic Development - Coun. Michael Thompson (Ward 37, Scarborough Centre)
  • Parks and Environment - Coun. Norm Kelly (Ward 40, Scarborough-Agincourt)
  • Government Management - Coun. Paul Ainslie (Ward 43, Scarborough East)
  • Licensing and Standards - Coun. Cesar Palacio (Ward 17, Davenport)
  • Planning and Growth Management - Coun. Peter Milczyn (Ward 5, Etobicoke-Lakeshore)
  • Public Works - Coun. Denzil Minnan-Wong (Ward 34, Don Valley East)

Ford said he will recommend the following appointments to the striking committee, a committee that Holyday will chair:

  • Speaker - Coun. Francis Nunziata (Ward 11 York Sought Weston)
  • Deputy speaker - Coun. John Parker (Ward 26 Don Valley West)
  • Budget committee chair - Coun. Mike Del Grande (Ward 39 Scarborough-Agincourt)
  • Chair of Toronto Transit Commission - Coun. Karen Stintz (Ward 16 Eglinton-Lawrence)

The following at-large members of the executive are to be voted on by council:

  • Coun. Michelle Berardinetti (Ward 35, Scarborough Southwest)
  • Coun. Mike Del Grande (Ward 39, Scarborough-Agincourt)
  • Coun. Jaye Robinson (Ward 25, Don Valley West)
  • Coun. David Shiner (Ward 24, Willowdale)