Skip to main content

Ontario party leaders face off during 2022 election debate


The leaders of Ontario's four major political parties took the stage for a live televised debate in Toronto on Monday night.

Progressive Conservative Leader Doug Ford, NDP Leader Andrea Horwath, Liberal Leader Steven Del Duca, and Green Party Leader Mike Schreiner participated in the 90-minute debate.

The debate was moderated by journalists Steve Paikin and Althia Raj.

Party leaders fielded questions from the moderators, which were developed in partnership with the consortium of regional broadcasters who organized the debate as well as Ontario voters themselves.

Participants in the event had to have candidates running in "all or almost all" Ontario ridings that currently have an elected MPP sitting in the provincial legislature.

Ontarians are set to head to polls on June 2 and party leaders spent the last full week on the campaign trail travelling across the province vying for your vote.

Recap on the top moments from the debate in the blog below. Top Stories

Stay Connected