At least 18 ministries in Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne's new majority government are expected to be headed by new ministers, CTV Toronto has learned.

One of the 18 is a portfolio that is brand new to Ontario, aimed at helping Wynne fulfill her promise to eliminate the $12.5 billion deficit in 3 years.

In addition to wrestling down the deficit, the new President of Treasury Board will have to review all government spending, and make decisions during labour negotiations with Ontario unions, a source speaking on the condition of anonymity told CTV Toronto's Paul Bliss.

The position is expected to be taken over by current Health Minister Deb Matthews, a source told The Canadian Press.

The cabinet will consist of 22 ministers with specific portfolios, plus the premier. Two more ministers will not have specific portfolios, but will take responsibility for seniors and assist other ministers. Two associate ministers will assist the province with pension and transit issues.

One of the associate ministers is expected to be Mitzie Hunter, MPP for Scarborough-Guildwood, a source told The Canadian Press.

The source also said that Finance Minister Charles Sousa and Education Minister Liz Sandals are expected to remain in their positions.

Some existing departments will be adjusted:

  • The Ministry of Environment will become the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change.
  • The Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure will be renamed Transportation.
  • The Ministry of Economic Development and Employment is also taking on the Infrastructure portfolio.

With files from CTV Toronto's Queen's Park Bureau Chief Paul Bliss and The Canadian Press