Snow and rain are in the forecast for the Toronto area, as a winter storm heads toward southern Ontario.

The city was placed under a winter storm watch as Environment Canada tracks a low-pressure system heading north from Texas on Monday morning.

The alert was upgraded to a winter storm warning on Monday afternoon, meaning severe weather is expected in the area.

The storm is expected to leave the Texas area and travel toward the lower Great Lakes, hitting the area Tuesday.

On its website, Environment Canada said weather system will lead to heavy snowfall and strong winds.

“Strong north-easterly winds will also give blowing snow especially in exposed areas and along the Lake Ontario shoreline due to gusts of 70 kilometres per hour,” the statement said.

The agency said the storm has the potential to dump between 15 and 30 centimetres of snow on affected areas. Freezing rain and ice pellets are also a possibility.

The statement said travellers should be prepared to make alternate plans on Tuesday, depending on driving conditions.

"Rapidly accumulating snow could make travel difficult over some locations. Visibility may be suddenly reduced at times in heavy snow," the statement said.

A full forecast for the City of Toronto is available on the Environment Canada website.

In addition to Toronto, the following areas fall under the winter storm warning:

  • Bancroft-Bon Echo Park
  • Belleville-Quinte-Northumberland
  • Brockville-Leeds and Grenville
  • Cornwall-Morrisburg (freezing rain warning also in effect)
  • Dufferin-Innisfil
  • Dunnville-Caledonia-Haldimand
  • Elgin
  • Halton-Peel
  • Hamilton
  • Huron-Perth
  • Kingston-Prince Edward
  • London-Middlesex
  • Niagara
  • Ottawa (freezing rain warning also in effect)
  • Oxford-Brant
  • Peterborough-Kawartha Lake
  • Prescott and Russell (freezing rain warning also in effect)
  • Sarnia-Lambton
  • Simcoe-Delhi-Norfolk
  • Smiths Falls-Lanark-Sharbot Lake (freezing rain warning in effect)
  • Stirling-Tweed-South Frontenac
  • Waterloo-Wellington
  • Windsor-Essex-Chatham-Kent
  • York-Durham