This riding has been NDP territory since its inception in 1999, dominated by incumbent Rosario Marchese. The MPP was first elected in Fort York in 1990.

In 2000 and 2001, he was voted best MPP by NOW Magazine readers.

But this election is looking less black-and-white than in the past. Marchese is now up against failed mayoral candidate and local Liberal hopeful Sarah Thomson.

Thomson dropped out of the 2010 race against Mayor Ford and vocally supported former Liberal MP George Smitherman in his bid for victory over Rob Ford, who would go on to become mayor. Smitherman lost, and now his ally is running in the provincial election.

Thomson built a multi-million dollar company by age 30, turning around failing gas service stations and making them successful. In 2002, she launched the Women's Post magazine with a readership of over 300,000.

She is also a Director of, a non-profit organization advocating for world-class architecture in Toronto.

Five-time incumbent Marchese is the NDP's critic for education and GTA issues. He is also caucus chair and on the committee on general government. In 2007, he won his riding by more than 4,000 votes.

Marchese has held multiple parliamentary assistant positions, including to Premier Bob Rae when he was first elected in 1990.

But the race in Trinity Spadina this year may be close. A Forum Research poll published by the Toronto Star last week suggests Marchese has 40.1 per cent of the vote, only 2.5 per cent ahead of Thomson with 37.5 per cent support.


Trinity-Spadina has it all – million-dollar Annex homes along with working- and middle-class residents. The riding also includes student housing and luxury lofts.

It's home to the University of Toronto, Little Portugal, Little Italy, Chinatown, Korea Town, the Toronto Islands, the CN Tower, Rogers Centre, Kensington Market, Trinity Bellwoods Park, the Royal Ontario Museum and the Art Gallery of Ontario.

There are low-income pockets in the west, but many condo and townhouse complexes are popping up as the area slowly changes.


Ahmed, Danish (PSN)

Fogel, Guy (SPO)

Grant, Tim (GRN)

Marchese, Rosario (NDP) „³ incumbent

Ocran-Caesar, Araba (PHR)

Thomson, Sarah (LIB)

Ursomarzo, Silvio (FP)

Yen, Mike (PC)